Health Education

The author of the evidence-based reports housed on this site is the U.S. government entity called the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). Its focus is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. It does this by engaging in research and publishing the evidence-based reports found on this Web site.

The ACHA-National College Health Assessment (NCHA) is a nationally recognized research survey that provides data pertaining to college students’ health habits, behaviors, and perceptions.

Bandolier, an independent journal about evidence-based healthcare, is a premier source of evidence based healthcare information in the UK and worldwide for both healthcare professionals and consumers.

ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

Locate evidence-based practice resources in six occupational therapy practice areas.

The ISRCTN registry is a primary clinical trial registry recognised by WHO and ICMJE that accepts all clinical research studies (whether proposed, ongoing or completed), providing content validation and curation and the unique identification number necessary for publication. All study records in the database are freely accessible and searchable.

ISRCTN supports transparency in clinical research, helps reduce selective reporting of results and ensures an unbiased and complete evidence base.

When accessing this book off-campus, your my.emich username and password is required.

The GIN promotes awareness of the value of guidelines, and provides high quality, evidence-based international health care information.

The Guide to Clinical Preventive Services includes U.S. Preventive Services Task Force recommendations on screening, counseling, and preventive medication topics and includes clinical considerations for each topic.

This public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines is published by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

Evidence Based Practices Resource Center from SAMHSA (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration).

This site provides full-text access to CATs in occupational therapy. A critically appraised topic (or CAT) is a short summary of evidence on a topic of interest, usually focused around a clinical question. A CAT is like a shorter and less rigorous version of a systematic review, summarizing the best available research evidence on a topic. Usually more than one study is included in a CAT.

Abstracts of randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews in occupational therapy

Provides access to abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews, and evidence-based clinical guidelines in physical therapy.

This site provides instruments and measures to study and evaluate interventions to improve primary care. Use these searchable databases to explore frameworks for measurement, and to identify and compare measures within 4 areas that are critical to primary care improvement:

PsycBITE is a database that catalogs studies of cognitive, behavioral and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain
impairment (ABI).

Identifies systematic reviews and other similar types of studies found in biomedical journals

NCCAM's web site offers evidence-based medicine resources and full-text clinical practice guidelines for practitioners and clinicians re: complementary and alternative treatments and therapies. The Health Topics A-Z section is the easiest way to search.

An open access database to Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy (BITE) across the scope of Speech Pathology practice.

Simultaneously searches the following databases: PubMed, Nat'l Guideline Clearinghouse, and DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects)

The TRIP Database is one of the Internet's leading resources for evidence-based medicine. It allows users to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. You must create an account, but registration is free.

This work is the result of "an independent panel of experts in primary care and prevention that systematically reviews the evidence of effectiveness and develops recommendations for clinical preventive services."

The Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository is an online digital repository service that collects, preserves, and disseminates digital materials in both abstract and full-text format.
Submissions may include preprints, working papers, theses, dissertations, doctorate of nursing practice projects, conference papers, presentations, faculty-created learning objects, data sets, and more.

Offers meta-analyses or other quantitative syntheses that provide "summaries of evidence on the effectiveness of programs or practices used with children in grades K-12, focusing on achievement outcomes." From the the Johns Hopkins University School of Education's Center for Data-Driven Reform in Education.

Offers systematic reviews on the effects of intervention in education, social welfare, crime & justice, and international development.
Tips: Since there aren't a large number of reviews in the Education category, browsing is a reasonable option. To find completed reviews, used the Advanced search and check Review under Type of Document:

Systematic reviews from a center at the University College London include education topics.

The " WWC identifies studies that provide credible and reliable evidence of the effectiveness of a given practice, program, or policy (referred to as “interventions”), and disseminates summary information and free reports."