Zotero - Collect, Organize, Cite, and Share References

Creating Annotated Bibliographies with Zotero

The Zotero Style Repository <http://www.zotero.org/styles/> currently offers, and regularly updates, annotated styles for two bibliographic formats:

  • American Psychological Association 6th edition (annotated bibliography with abstract)
  • Chicago Manual of Style 16th edition (note, annotated bibliography)

These styles use the information stored in Zotero's Abstract field to display the annotation.

Use the following right-click technique to create a file with the annotated bibliography.

  1. Highlight one or more references in the Zotero center column
  2. Right-click (or control-click on Macs) to select “Create Bibliography from Items...
  3. Select an annotated citation style for your bibliography format
  4. Choose "Save as RTF" to save the bibliography as a rich text file
  5. This file will open in any word processor

NOTE: The following two Zotero bibliography creation techniques do NOT generate properly formatted annotations:

    1. Right click "Copy to Clipboard", and
    2. Quick Copy drag-and-drop

I created a few Zotero annotated bibliography styles that use the information stored in Zotero's Extra field to display the annotation. Since Zotero normally imports an author's abstract into Zotero's Abstract field, you can use the styles below to place your own annotation into the Extra field, and then generate an annotated bibliography using your own words.

For my annotated bibliography styles (below), type your annotation text for each item into Zotero's field labeled Extra. [Note: As to how much text can be stored in the Extra field, there is no limit on the client side. For syncing, text is limited to 64KB.]

Use the following right-click technique to create a file with the annotated bibliography.

  1. Highlight one or more references in the Zotero center column
  2. Right-click (or control-click on Macs) to select “Create Bibliography from Items...
  3. Select an annotated citation style for your bibliography format
  4. Choose "Save as RTF" to save the bibliography as a rich text file
  5. This file will open in any word processor

NOTE: The following two Zotero bibliography creation techniques do NOT generate properly formatted annotations:

    1. Right click "Copy to Clipboard", and
    2. Quick Copy drag-and-drop

Adding American Psychological Association (APA) Annotated Bibliography Style

  1. Click the following link and text will appear in a new browser window

      http://www.emich.edu/library/help/apa_annotated_20170711.csl
     
  2. Save the content as a text file with the name    apa_annotated_20170711.csl
  3. In Zotero for Firefox, drag-and drop the CSL style file onto an open Firefox browser window
    In Zotero Standalone, while Zotero Standalone is open, double-click the CSL style file
  4. A 'Confirm' window will pop-up asking if you want to install the CSL style file. Click the Install button
  5. The new style will be called American Psychological Association 6th Edition (Annotated)

Adding Chicago Author-Date Annotated Bibliography Style

  1. Click the following link and text will appear in a new browser window

      http://www.emich.edu/library/help/chicago_author_date_annotated_20170328.csl
     
  2. Save the content as a text file with the name    chicago_author_date_annotated_20170328.csl
  3. In Zotero for Firefox, drag-and drop the CSL style file onto an open Firefox browser window
    In Zotero Standalone, while Zotero Standalone is open, double-click the CSL style file
  4. A 'Confirm' window will pop-up asking if you want to install the CSL style file. Click the Install button
  5. The new style will be called Chicago Manual of Style (author-date) (Annotated)

Adding Modern Language Association (MLA) 7th Annotated Bibliography Style

  1. Click the following link and text will appear in a new browser window

      http://www.emich.edu/library/help/mla_annotated_20170427.csl
     
  2. Save the content as a text file with the name    mla_annotated_20170427.csl
  3. In Zotero for Firefox, drag-and drop the CSL style file onto an open Firefox browser window
    In Zotero Standalone, while Zotero Standalone is open, double-click the CSL style file
  4. A 'Confirm' window will pop-up asking if you want to install the CSL style file. Click the Install button
  5. The new style will be called Modern Language Association (Annotated)

Adding Modern Language Association (MLA) 8th Annotated Bibliography Style

  1. Click the following link and text will appear in a new browser window

      http://www.emich.edu/library/help/mla_annotated_8th_20160827.csl
     
  2. Save the content as a text file with the name    mla_annotated_8th_20160827.csl
  3. In Zotero for Firefox, drag-and drop the CSL style file onto an open Firefox browser window
    In Zotero Standalone, while Zotero Standalone is open, double-click the CSL style file
  4. A 'Confirm' window will pop-up asking if you want to install the CSL style file. Click the Install button
  5. The new style will be called Modern Language Association 8th edition (Annotated)

Adding American Sociological Association (ASA) Annotated Bibliography Style

  1. Click the following link and text will appear in a new browser window

      http://www.emich.edu/library/help/asa_annotated_20160711.csl
     
  2. Save the content as a text file with the name    asa_annotated_20160711.csl
  3. In Zotero for Firefox, drag-and drop the CSL style file onto an open Firefox browser window
    In Zotero Standalone, while Zotero Standalone is open, double-click the CSL style file
  4. A 'Confirm' window will pop-up asking if you want to install the CSL style file. Click the Install button
  5. The new style will be called American Sociological Association (Annotated)

Adding American Anthopological Association (AAA) Annotated Bibliography Style

  1. Click the following link and text will appear in a new browser window

      http://www.emich.edu/library/help/aaa_annotated_20140430.csl
     
  2. Save the content as a text file with the name    aaa_annotated_20140430.csl
  3. In Zotero for Firefox, drag-and drop the CSL style file onto an open Firefox browser window
    In Zotero Standalone, while Zotero Standalone is open, double-click the CSL style file
  4. A 'Confirm' window will pop-up asking if you want to install the CSL style file. Click the Install button
  5. The new style will be called American Anthopological Association (Annotated)

Adding American Medical Association (AMA) Annotated Bibliography Style

  1. Click the following link and text will appear in a new browser window

      http://www.emich.edu/library/help/ama_annotated_20151216.csl
     
  2. Save the content as a text file with the name    ama_annotated_20151216.csl
  3. In Zotero for Firefox, drag-and drop the CSL style file onto an open Firefox browser window
    In Zotero Standalone, while Zotero Standalone is open, double-click the CSL style file
  4. A 'Confirm' window will pop-up asking if you want to install the CSL style file. Click the Install button
  5. The new style will be called American Medical Association (Annotated)

Adding The Journal of Cell Biology Annotated Bibliography Style

  1. Click the following link and text will appear in a new browser window

      http://www.emich.edu/library/help/the_journal_of_cell_biology_annotated_20130927.csl
     
  2. Save the content as a text file with the name    the_journal_of_cell_biology_annotated_20130927.csl
  3. In Zotero for Firefox, drag-and drop the CSL style file onto an open Firefox browser window
    In Zotero Standalone, while Zotero Standalone is open, double-click the CSL style file
  4. A 'Confirm' window will pop-up asking if you want to install the CSL style file. Click the Install button
  5. The new style will be called The Journal of Cell Biology (Annotated)

Library Guy

Keith Stanger
Contact:
Eastern Michigan University Library
955 West Circle Drive
Room 100G
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
(734)487-2509

keith@stanger.com

Request an appointment