About Journal Articles
Journal articles are an essential source of current scholarship in historical research. They present new interpretations, explore debates, and build on or challenge existing studies. Because they are written by scholars and reviewed by experts before publication, journal articles are considered peer-reviewed or scholarly sources.
Reading journal articles helps you understand how historians frame questions, use evidence, and engage with one another’s arguments. Articles also include bibliographies that point you toward additional books, primary sources, and related studies, making them a valuable tool for deepening and focusing your own research.
Search Esearch for Known Journal Articles
It is easy to learn if the EMU Library has a specific journal article. Just type in the title of a journal article in the Esearch search box.
Search Esearch for Peer Reviewed Journal Articles
Enter topic keywords to search Esearch—this form is pre-filtered to peer-reviewed journal articles, and results will open in a new window where you can refine filters.
Journal Article Databases - BEST BETS
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Subjects: American History
Info type: scholarly articles, magazine articles, book & video info, dissertation info -
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSubjects: World History (excludes U.S. and Canada)
Info type: scholarly articles, book info
Indexing of historical articles from more than 2,600 journals in over 40 languages; Access to the full text of more than 400 journals and 140 books; Coverage dates as far back as 1954, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century -
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of back issues for many journals, some academic ebooks, and research reports.
Subjects: Covers most subjects
Info type: scholarly journals, professional periodicals, ebooks.
Access Tips: Usually the most recent 3-5 years are not available in JSTOR. However, EMU may have a current subscription. Check the Journal Titles search.
More Journal Article Databases
-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Covers most Arts and Humanities topics
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles -
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of journals published by universities and scholarly societies.
Subjects: Humanities & Social Studies--especially History, Literature, Political Science, Women's Studies, some Science and Mathematics
Info type: scholarly journals, literary magazines -
Google Scholar with EMU Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for scholarly materials on any topic
Info type: scholarly articles, books, research reports, theses, working papers, cited sources
Access Tips: Use link above to get access to EMU subscriptions with Findtext+ links.
If this link does not work and you receive an error message from Google then use this alternate link to Google Scholar and also set your Google Scholar preferences to show EMU library access links.
Search Instruction: Google Scholar Video
-
Other History DatabasesSee other history databases available at the EMU Library. NOTE: Access requires EMU login.
-
All EMU Library DatabasesSee all the databases available at the EMU Library. NOTE: Access to most databases requires an EMU login.
Journal Articles Not Available at EMU (Interlibrary Loan)
If the EMU Library doesn't have the article available online or in our print journals, you can request a copy for you through ILLiad, the Library's interlibrary loan service.
-
ILLiad (request a journal article)Note: You will need to log in to make a request. The first time you log in, you will be prompted to create an account.
-
ILLiad InformationFind instructions and contact information.