APA style tips page
This page gives tips on creating APA citations for commonly used sources for your class projects, though this is not a full list of how to do everything in APA.
For additional APA guidance, try the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL):
-
APA Style 7th ed. @ Purdue OWLInformation on the format, in-text citations and the reference page for 7th ed. APA research papers. There are also links to archived pages for APA 6th information.
Cite from library databases
Most library databases have tools for creating citations in APA and other styles. The images below indicate for what to look for in a couple common library databases: usually a pair of quotation marks indicate citations. Another path is to use the email tools in a database to email yourself your research and a citation all in one message.
Many library databases provide formatted references to use in bibliographies or reference lists. The format is not always completely correct. Double-check the results!
Examples:
Esearch: look for the quotation mark icon - Cite Now
ProQuest: look for the Cite option on the right side of the detailed item screen:
APA 7th edition References page examples
Articles
Electronic article with DOI (direct object identifier)
Frye, C. M., Bennett, R., & Caldwell, S. (2006). Team emotional intelligence and team interpersonal process effectiveness. American Journal of Business, 21(1), 49-58. https://doi.org/10.1108/19355181200600005
Electronic article with exact URL printed on article (if a doi is not available)
Lanier, C. D. Jr., & Saini, A. (2008). Understanding consumer privacy: A review and future directions. Academy of Marketing Science Review, 12(2), 1-45. https://www.amsreview.org/articles/lanier02-2008.pdf
Chapter from a book or eBook
Marcus, J., Rudolph, C. W., & Zacher, H. (2020). An ecological systems framework for work and aging. In D. L. Stone, J.H. Dulebohn, & K. M. Lukaszewski (Eds.), Diversity and inclusion in organizations (pp. 193-223). Information Age Publishing.
Citing business databases in APA 7th edition
This page gives examples for citing reports or data from specialized business databases.
-
Citing Business Databases in APA Format (UNCG)Maintained by the business librarian at University of North Carolina-Greensboro.
APA Style
These links offer advice for using APA Style and have enough information for most student papers.
-
APA 7th ed. Quick Reference GuideCharts detail how to create a reference for a journal article, book, and a book chapter.
-
APA Style Reference ExamplesThis page offers links to example references for common types of materials such as journal articles, magazine articles, books, chapters from edited books, dissertations, etc.
-
APA Style 7th ed. @ Purdue OWLInformation on the format, in-text citations and the reference page for 7th ed. APA research papers. There are also links to archived pages for APA 6th information.
-
APA Style Blog 7th ed.Official blog with posts on common questions about 7th ed APA style.
-
Citation ToolsTools for creating citations and managing references.
-
Microsoft Word / Google Docs: APA Formatting HelpTips for formatting documents in APA style in Microsoft Word or Google Docs.
-
APA Student Paper Setup GuideGuide from APA showing how to set up an APA Style student paper.
-
How to cite ChatGPTHow to cite ChatGPT or other AI models in APA style.