Science Teaching

Next Generation Science Standards from the National Science Teaching Association. Standards are linked and downloadable from the page.

Online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation. Text, pictures of live animals, photographs/movies of specimens, and/or sound recordings. Students write text of these accounts; we cannot guarantee their accuracy. Descriptions of levels above the species level, especially phyla, classes, and in some cases, orders and families. Hyperlinked pages and images illustrate traits and general biology of these groups. Professional biologists prepare this part.

Online videos and interactive student activities covering a variety of disciplines, including science

The Institute of Human Origins (IHO) is affiliated with Arizona State University and is the developer of this site. The site contains interactive modules on evolution and physical anthropology, a time line of human evolution and much more.

Companion to the popular television program, this website contains possible classroom experiments, fun facts, and more.

Baylor College of Medicine in Houston produced this website aimed at K-12 science educators. Included are high-quality websites, lesson plans, and a collection of peer-reviewed, annotated PowerPoint slide sets on topics of interest to science educators.

A wide range of topics in biology are covered with lectures, videos, animations, and virtual laboratory exercises. For teachers and students, from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

Find presentations, recorded lectures, teaching materials, movies, animations, games, posters, photos, games and ideas for practical activities in the classroom. All this material is available for free when used for educational purposes.

The Educator's Reference Desk provides high-quality resources and services to the education community. Developed by the Information Institute of Syracuse, the Educator's Reference Desk has 2,000+ lesson plans, 3,000+ links to online education information, and 200+ question archive responses. Browse by subject to find resources or lesson plans specific to biology.

Since 1993, the Exploratorium has been one of the best science museums to build a site on the World Wide Web. The site now contains over 18,000 award-winning Web pages exploring hundreds of different topics.

For students, parents, teachers, scientists, engineers and mathematicians. More than 14,000 Science Resources sorted by Category, Subcategory, and Grade Level.

Fun, interactive, research-based simulations of physical phenomena from the PhET project at the University of Colorado.

This gateway provides links to resources in mathematics, science, and the arts for educators and students in grades K-12. Very comprehensive site; look for the Biology link in left menu.

The Khan Academy, which began in 2006, is a free website that currently contains more than 1600 short (10-20 minute) videos that teach a variety of subjects, especially in math and science. Louisiana-born creator Salman Khan, a former Silicon Valley investment manager with an MBA from Harvard, hopes that Khan Academy will bring a “free, world-class education” to the world. Mr. Khan narrates all the videos using only a blackboard and colorful writing. Endorsed by Bill Gates, whose childre

A diverse collection of lessons and web resources for classroom teachers, their students, and students' families. Materials are arranged by subject area to help you quickly find resources in your interest area, and then use them to create lesson plans or at-home activities.

Daily Dos are sensemaking tasks teachers and parents can use to engage their students in authentic, relevant science learning. Includes lesson plans for elementary, middle, high school, and family learning.

Science NetLinks is part of the Thinkfinity, a partnership between the Verizon Foundation and eight premier educational organizations . This website provides free, Internet-based content across academic disciplines. Science NetLinks' role is to provide a wealth of standards-based resources for K-12 science educators, including lesson plans, interactives and reviewed Internet resources.

Award winning website for middle school students and educators. Includes lesson plans, science projects, assessment tools and more.

This site from the Smithsonian Institute includes lesson plans, educational resources that align with state standards and online collections.

Videos, podcasts, images, and other resources for teachers

Interactive website for K-8 science students and teachers it contains ideas for experiments, science fair projects and lesson plans.

This is a free online interactive museum with exhibits on many different subjects in the sciences, humanities and culture. Some exhibits feature embedded audio and video and all are very high quality. Included are online lesson plans suitable for middle to high school as well as exercises for students.