Research Guides: Market Research: Business to Business Market Research

Industry Codes

To use some sources you will need a NAICS or SIC code for your industry.

North American Industry Classification System
The NAIC System assigns numerical codes to industries from two to six digits. Shorter codes represent broader industry sectors. Be sure to read the full description of the NAICS code, as it may include a broader array of products/services than you might assume.

Standard Industrial Classification Manual (at OSHA site)
The SIC system assigns numerical codes to industries from two to four digits. Shorter codes represent broader industry sectors. Be sure to read the full description of the SIC code, as it often includes a broader array of products/services than you might assume.

Business Demographics

DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
Look-up businesses, or create lists. Create reports, graphs, or maps.
Note: Most company sales figures are computer-modelled estimates (not actual).
Search Instruction: Tutorials necessary - tutorial center

County Business Patterns
County Business Patterns is an annual series that provides economic data by industry for the nation, states, and counties. This site provides links to various forms of the data, including data by 5-digit zip code or metropolitan area using either SIC or NAICS codes. Data can be downloaded to spreadsheets.
Business Expenses Survey
Part of the Economic Census that is done every five years, the Business Expenses Survey provides "estimates on operating expenses for retail, merchant wholesale, and selected service firms." Previously called the Business Expenditures Survey.

Create Your Own Company Lists

Beware! Private company info is difficult to obtain and verify.

Although better than most free sources, the info in these databases is often inaccurate--this is especially true of sales figures which may only be gross estimates (even when labelled as actual).

DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
Create lists of U.S. companies by multiple criteria, including industry and location.
Note: Most company sales figures are computer-modelled estimates (not actual).
Search Instruction: Tutorials necessary - tutorial center

Useful Free Directories

Yellow Pages
Search by name or by a combination of business category and U.S. city.
Thomas Net (Thomas Register)
This extensive directory of North American industrial firms can be searched by product or service, company name, or brand name. Brief directory information often includes the company web site and sometimes includes a full online product catalog.
MacRAE's Blue Book
Use this industrial directory to search by product to find manufacturers, distributors, or suppliers of industrial products and components. Or search for an industrial company to find brief info, certifications, and products.
Kompass
This free directory on the Web includes 4 million companies worldwide. Free search capabilities include searches by product/service, company name, trade name, or executive. All searches can be limited by world region or a specific country. Free information is usually just address and phone number, but sometimes also a business description, executives, or product and services.
Europages
A business-to-business directory listing 600,000+ European companies (including Eastern Europe). Search by company name, or product.

Electronic Book

Business to Business Market Research: Understanding and Measuring Business Markets by Ruth McNeil
Publication Date: 2006
A B2B client might want research on their business customers, suppliers, or other parties involved in the running of their business.
Driving Demand by Carlos Hidalgo
Publication Date: 2015
Case studies and excerpts from B2B marketing practitioners and ANNUITAS clients who have transformed their organizations and how they accomplished these changes are incorporated throughout the book.
Marketing Plans by Malcolm McDonald; Hugh Wilson
Publication Date: 2016
Content includes: A 'Does it Work' feature demonstrating examples of successes using the processes in the book; More substantial coverage of consumer behavior to balance the book's focus on B2B planning.