Start here: Library Esearch
A quick search of most of the library’s books, articles, ebooks, dissertations, videos, music, and more.
Other helpful databases
-
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowSubjects: Criminology, Corrections
Info type: scholarly articles
Brief Instruction Video: ProQuest Basics -
Criminology & Criminal Justice Routledge Handbooks This link opens in a new windowFull text of 18 Routledge online handbooks.
Access Note: To search across the content of these 18 books: 1) enter a search 2) on the left side of the Results page, click on "Criminology and Criminal Justice" -
HeinOnline's Government, Politics & Law This link opens in a new window
EMU's HeinOnline subscription includes access to policy briefs, publications and special collections on civil rights, international law, women, slavery, gun regulation, water rights & resources, and more. This government document and legal research database contains comprehensive coverage of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.
-
ICPSR - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Archive of social science data that can be downloaded and used for original research.
Set up an account using your EMU email to access and download data.
Subjects: Political Science, Economics, Education, Geography, Health Care, Criminology, Social Issues
Info type: data sets, survey data, U.S. Census data -
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowSubjects: Psychology, Education, Business, Communication, Linguistics, Social Work
Info type: scholarly articles, book info, conference papers, dissertations
How To: ProQuest Basics
Locating Quantitative and Qualitative Articles in PsycINFO
PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide -
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowPerform legal research and/or search for news articles
Subjects: U.S. Law, State Law, European Union Law, News
Info type: court cases, laws, regulations, law review articles, legal encyclopedias, legal guides, law dictionary, news articles
NOTE: Many functions of Westlaw will only function properly if you disable any pop-up blocker. For example, printing may not work if a pop-up blocker is active.
Government Resources
-
Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)Described as "The United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics," the BJS' mission is "to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government." (Source: BJS About Us page)
-
Federal Bureau of Prisons: StatisticsStatistical data on prison populations and staffing, which can be filtered to reflect granularity from the national level down to a specific facility.
-
Michigan Department of Corrections - Statistics & ReportsLinks to MDOC publications.
-
Michigan State Police - Statistics & ReportsLinks to MSP publications.
-
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Virtual Library (NCJRS)"Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is an Office of Justice Programs (OJP) resource offering information to support research, policy, and program development. The NCJRS Virtual Library contains bibliographic information and abstracts of more than 230,000 collection resources and over 80,000 online materials, including all known OJP works." (Source: NCJRS page)
-
U.S. Department of Justice: PublicationsLinks to DOJ (and other agency) publications.
