IMC 605 & 606 - Creative Message Strategy & Media Strategy

Find website traffic, statistics, and analytics. Some information is free, some requires a subscription.

Learn about the Google Adsense program on this site.

Search a word to see a chart showing popularity of the word as a Google search term.

IAB is a trade association for many types of digital media, including online, wireless, social media, interactive TV, and gaming. The IAB site has educational materials on interactive marketing including case studies, research summaries, industry statistics, and industry guidelines.

Directory services have expanded into print, digital, social media, and mobile forms. Although much of the info on the site is not freely available, the Resources area offers a vendor directory, free research reports on usage of yellow pages headings (print & online), and archived webinars.

The MMA site offers numerous free resources, including best practices, case studies, an industry directory, and educational materials.

DCN represents media companies, news, information, and entertainment web publishers such as WebMD, PBS, or the New York Times. It has news related to online advertising and relevant research reports, such as studies on smartphone and tablet users, online ad effectiveness, marketer preferences, etc.

This "computational knowledge engine" can be used to find some basic site traffic measures. Enter a domain to get average daily page views, average daily visitors, and site rank.

Offers data by magazine title on advertising paging and expenditures, as well as research reports on readership, media effectiveness, audience behavior, etc. Also, industry news, case studies, a glossary of terms, and career info.

Association for B2B media, including business & agricultural periodicals, web sites, and blogs. Site is rich in content, offering case studies, trend reports, and industry news.

Site offers overall stats on newspaper advertising expenditures, readership, newspaper web audience, & average issue demographic composition.

The Resource Center has statistics on out-of-home advertising, creative examples, and info on public service OAAA advertising. The Out-of-Home Advertising section offers profiles of OOH media formats that describe how they are used and purchased, as well as a glossary, and comparisons to other media types. The Creative section, includes a gallery of Obie awards and a large image library that can be searched by product category, brand, advertiser, or agency. Site also offers a Code of Industry Principles. Many other resources available only to members.

This trade association for the marketing at retail industry provides most of it's web content to members only. However, students can access the Creative Gallery on the site for numerous images of award winning in-store displays and signage.

Duke University provides a searchable library with "more than 30,000 images of outdoor advertisements." Can be searched by company, product, and more.

A large provider of Out-of-Home advertising.

A large provider of Out-of-Home advertising.

An independent auditor of audience metrics for out-of-home media. No free metrics on the site, but the site is useful for learning about the metrics.

Includes postings of product placement opportunities.

Profiles of radio stations, ratings of stations, and rankings of radio markets.
Many free studies of media audiences for radio, cable TV, internet, and online radio--including studies of multi-cultural audiences.
Although some parts of the site can only be accessed by Arbitron clients, there are many free reports.

Radio advertising studies.

This information rich site offers detailed radio audience statistics and consumer studies. Many of the consumer studies are also useful beyond the radio context. The creative section includes a large database of MP3 radio ads which can be searched by industry, product type, and other criteria. This complicated site can take some patience to navigate (tabs at top help), but rewards with a lot of content.
Some parts of site require free registration.

Trade publication reports station ratings info from Nielsen (formerly Arbitorn). Station database can be searched by city. Info on promotions and radio industry news.
Tips: Use QUICK INDEX MENU to find info on the site.
Lots of free info, but not everything on site is free.

This includes costs for 30 second spots on a limited list of programs (starts on page 24).

VAB/CAB’s database of cable network profiles is a gold mine for media planners. Profiles include estimates of network viewers, base demographics, and programming genres. Look closely to find the longer complete profiles that provide detailed audience demographics and lifestyles, as well as info on specific TV programs.

Profiles can be browsed by multicultural group, programming genre, demographic segment (age & gender breakouts), sports category, or family/gender type. A cable systems directory can be browsed by state or DMA (designated marketing areas). The Cable Planner section offers additional tools.

Use Markets & Stations section to see DMA profiles including stats and links to local stations. Ratings section has Local Television Market Universe Estimates for DMAs from Nielsen (also by ethnic audiences), as well as list of top programs by age segments; Nielsen data on some top shows, news programs, sports broadcasts, & award shows; stats on top syndicated programs; HUT tables; and info on time-shifted viewing. Planning section has info on Diginet channels. Site also offers industry statistics and trend info.

Has good data on the cable television industry.

Profiles of radio stations, ratings of stations, and rankings of radio markets.
Many free studies of media audiences for radio, cable TV, internet, and online radio--including studies of multi-cultural audiences.
Although some parts of the site can only be accessed by Arbitron clients, there are many free reports.

Print Book at EMU Library
Reserve Reference HE 8700.8 .T917 2013

Contains many stats on television viewers and TV advertising, including:
- CPMs by demo, daypart, network type for 30 sec ads
- TV viewing patterns, including viewer demographics by daypart
- Demographics & engagement metrics of specific programs & TV sports
- detailed stats on viewer attentiveness
- Q scores (emotional impact) and engagement metrics of specific programs

Audience metrics and average spot costs for British TV.

This free web site can be searched by keyword to find many charts with statistics on advertising & marketing topics, including conversion rates, consumer opinions, advertising trends, spending, media stats, etc. It summarizes content from many reputable sources mentioned on this guide. The By Topics menu (top bar) may also be helpful.

Nielsen provides clients with data on consumer media and marketing behavior. Much of the site describes services provided to clients--but you'll also find some free info at the site, such as top 10 media rankings and news items.

Tip: You can find Nielsen data that has been shared with the media in article databases such as ABI/INFORM or Factiva.

Simmons gathers data on "consumer behavior, including media consumption and product preferences" to create consumer studies, analytic tools and segmentation models. Site has information on Simmons' products and methods.
Except for some blog articles, most reports on this site are not free.
Tip: Mintel reports sometimes incorporate data from Simmons. Statistical charts with Simmons data can be created in DemographicsNow (see library databases)

A free registration gains access to a rich Knowledge & Ideas library of articles and online videos on topics related to advertising, customer loyalty, marketing, and media strategy. Content is especially strong for topics related to digital marketing and to the affluent market.

Click on map for profiles of Designated Market Areas.

This annual report by the Pew Research Center covers trends in news media, including digital news media, newspapers, news magazines, television news, and radio news, as well as ethnic and alternative media. Offers audience statistics and rankings of top news outlets for each media type.