Research Guides: Dietetics & Nutrition: Reference Materials and eBooks

eReference Books

Encyclopedia of Food Issues
This academic encyclopedia focuses on social and policy aspects of food production, safety, regulation, labeling, marketing, distribution, and consumption. It explores the topic of food across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and related areas including business, consumerism, marketing, and environmentalism.
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition
It presents the latest understanding on a wide range of nutrition-related topics including food safety, weight management, vitamins, bioengineering of foods, plant based diet and raw foods among others. New articles include: organic food, biofortification, nutritional labeling, and the effect of religious customs on diet.
Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health
900 alphabetically arranged entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. The encyclopedia covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
Gale Encyclopedia of Diets
A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others. Includes photographs, illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, and timelines.
The Health Professional's Guide to Food Allergies and Intolerances
This comprehensive guide sheds light on the latest science behind food allergies and intolerances as well as practical suggestions for their management. Features: * The science behind food allergies and food intolerances and how these two types of reactions differ. * The role of elimination diets and challenge protocols in identifying food sensitivities. * Symptoms, diagnosis and management of 24 foods and food components known to cause adverse reactions, including the "top ten" * Milk * Egg * Wheat * Corn * Peanuts * Soy * Tree Nuts * Shellfish * Fish
Multicultural Handbook of Food, Nutrition and Dietetics
Multicultural Handbook of Food, Nutrition and Dietetics is the must have practical resource for dietitians, nutritionists and students working with both well settled but also recently migrated ethnic groups.
Written by a team of authors drawn from the British Dietetic Association's Specialist Multicultural Nutrition Group the book provides in-depth information to equip the reader in the provision of nutrition advice to minority groups. Spanning a broad range of cultural groups the book seeks to consider religious and cultural requirements in relation to traditional diets; research on migration studies and chronic disease states; and nutrition and dietetic treatment in relation to key chronic diseases.

Search Tips for Books

Search Terms
You can locate books in the Halle Library by searching keywords such as: dietetics, diet, nutrition, obesity, food, health promotion, diabetes, etc.

American Dietetic Association/Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics/ADA

The ADA changed it name in 2013 and although most items are crossed referenced with both names, sometimes it is good to double check.

In the Library's main search box, use the keywords American Dietetic Association or the Academy of Dietetics and Nutrition and you will get a list of all of the publications from the ADA or the ADN that are available at the library.

InterLibrary Loan - Books

MeLCat is the fastest way to borrow a book via interlibrary loan. If you can't find the book in MeLCat, try ILLiad.

MeLCat This link opens in a new window
Search for and request items in many Michigan libraries
Info type: book info, library holdings

ILLiad
Current EMU students and faculty can use this online form to ask the library to borrow a book from another library. Please check MeLCat first, as MeLCat books arrive more quickly. To request a book, look for the Book link under New Request. The library doesn't borrow textbooks from other libraries through ILLiad.
Tip: If you just need a specific chapter, use the Book Chapter form.