Dietetics & Nutrition

Halle Library Information

This is a research guide for the Nutrition & Dietetics Program. This guide has program specific resources and includes electronic books, databases and web resources relevant to dietetics & nutrition research. 

1) Library Home Page: https://www.emich.edu/library.  You can access the library catalog and databases directly through this page, as well as links to general library information.

2) Basics of Using the Halle Library Resources - provides tutorials on how to use resources and materials.  https://guides.emich.edu/help/researchbasics

3) Library Services Tutorials - explanations regarding the use of library services https://www.emich.edu/library/services/index.php

4) Databases - links to the Halle Library Databases page: https://guides.emich.edu/az.php

• Under both the CINAHL and  PubMed database links, you will find short instructional videos. They are also available here:  https://guides.emich.edu/c.php?g=645370&p=4522942
•  
• The following links connect to videos from the National Library of Medicine that provide basic & advanced instruction in searching PubMed.
  • What is PubMed? - https://www.nlm.nih.gov/oet/ed/pubmed/quicktours/whatsin/index.html
  • PubMed Basic Searching (interactive tutorial)- https://www.nlm.nih.gov/oet/ed/pubmed/quicktours/topic_how_it_works/index.html
  • The MeSH Database - https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/meshtutorial/themeshdatabase/index.html
  • PubMed Advanced Searching - https://www.nlm.nih.gov/oet/ed/pubmed/quicktours/advanced/index.html

5) Evaluating Information - Use the link, Evaluating Information, on the left menu for guides and techniques for critically appraising resources 

6) Citing Sources

• The American Medical Association Manual of Style, 11th ed., 2020, is available at: http://ezproxy.emich.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2363704&site=ehost-live&scope=site Your my.emich username and password will be required to access this ebook off campus. 
• OWL@Purdue - This resource discusses references page formatting for the American Medical Association (AMA) style sheet. https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/research_and_citation/ama_style/index.html
• Zotero -  a free resource that assists you in citing, organizing and storing your research materials:  https://guides.emich.edu/zotero

7) Interlibrary Loan - how to obtain journal articles and books from other libraries that the Halle Library does not own:  https://www.emich.edu/library/services/get_other_libraries.php

As students at EMU you have access to MeLCat, a system that allows you to borrow books from other Michigan libraries, regular interlibrary loan which allows to request books and articles from other libraries that are not available through the Halle Library, and other reciprocal agreements within the state including our borrowing agreement with the University of Michigan, which includes the Taubman Health Science Library.

8) Librarian Subject Specialist - Elizabeth Bucciarelli - 734-487-2506 - ebucciare@emich.edu

You can ask me questions directly through my email, ebucciare@emich.edu, or receive assistance through the Ask a Librarian service located in the box on the right side of this page.