Research Guides: Biology: Microbiology & Bacteriology

Reference Books

The Prokaryotes by Martin Dworkin (Editor-In-Chief); Stanley Falkow (Editor); Eugene Rosenberg (Editor); Karl-Heinz Schleifer (Editor); Erko Stackebrandt (Editor)
ISBN: 0387307419
Publication Date: 2006-11-13

Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea and Bacteria by William B. Whitman (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118960608
Publication Date: 2015-09-14
Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea and Bacteria (BMSAB) is a reference work aimed at undergraduates, graduate students, researchers, professors and experienced professionals at all levels. About a hundred new genera and 600+ new species have been described per year for each of the last 5 years. To remain abreast of this explosion in knowledge of the microbial world, an electronic manual with frequent updates is necessary. The BMSAB is an essential tool for anyone at the forefront of research in microbiology.

AlgaeBase
AlgaeBase is a database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms.
Culture Collections of the World
Culture collection of the World Data Center for Microorganisms.
Microbial Life
Site that contains educational materials for students and educators of microbiology. Provides links to a variety of information on ecology, diversity, environment, and evolution of microorganisms.
Microbiology Information Portal
Website with links to a vast amount of information on microbiology.
NCBI Genome Resource Guides
NCBI Genome Resource guides provide links, scoped searches, and alerts for a variety of genome-oriented data sources.
RCSB Protein Data Bank
The Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics Protein Data Bank (RCSB PDB) provides a variety of tools and resources for studying the structures of biological macromolecules and their relationships to sequence, function, and disease. The RCSB is a member of the wwPDB, whose mission is to ensure that the PDB archive remains an international resource with uniform data. This site offers tools for browsing, searching, and reporting that utilize the data.
The Cell: An Image Library
An interactive site featuring images, videos, and animations illustrating cells and cell structure
Millipore Sigma
Unseen Life on Earth
Instructional series of 12 half-hour videos offering an introduction to microbiology.