Research Guides: Finance: Stocks

Best Info Source for Companies on U.S. Exchanges

Standard & Poors NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Detailed financials for stocks on U.S. exchanges, includes stock quotes (20 min delay) and S&P Industry Surveys. Use Corp Records for capitalization, subsidiaries, capital expenditures, R&D expenditures, bond descriptions, dividends, etc. and Stock Reports for Beta, S&P Credit Rating, % institutional ownership, ratios, analyst opinions, etc.
Tip: Use Simple Search to find company. In results, note numerous links to the left leading to detailed info.

SEC Filings

EDGAR - company search
All companies traded on U.S. stock exchanges must file various reports with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). The SEC makes these reports available via EDGAR. This includes the 10-K, 10-Q, 8-K, proxy, registration, and other forms (but often not the Annual Report to Shareholders).
BamSEC
Very quick, organized way to find SEC filings. Can search by name or ticker. Or, browse by industry.
SEC Info - alternative search for EDGAR SEC filings
This site allows you to search for EDGAR SEC filings and SEDAR filings (Canadian Securities Administrators - CSA). Benefits are some different ways to do keyword searches, ability to browse recent filings, and a nicer looking display of documents. The popularity of this site means that it can sometimes be a little slow.
Limited amount of free searching. Active users must purchase a subscription.

Other Sources of Public Company Financials

Stock Market Watch (formerly Quote.com or MarketCenter)
Need stock charts? This may be the site for you. Besides current quotes & recent news on a stock, this site provides advanced charts. Users can customize charts with comparisons to indexes or with various technical analysis studies. Good coverage of international financial markets, options, exchange traded funds, & futures.
Much free info available without registering. Some features are subscription-only, like real time streaming quotes & portfolio features.
Yahoo! Finance
Information on individual stocks, bonds, and mutual funds as well as overall markets. A good source for getting historical prices. Most information is free, but you have to endure many annoying advertisements.
OTC Markets
Includes info on pink sheet, venture stage, and grey market companies.
Euroland.com
Offers info from 40 international stock exchanges.

Analyst Reports

Note:EMU Library's subscription to Value Line Investment Survey has been cancelled due to budget cuts. The S&P Stock Reports in the NetAdvantage Database (link below) have similar info. If you really want Value Line, it's possible that your public library may have a subscription.

Standard & Poors NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
NetAdvantage includes analyst opinions from the publication S&P Stock Reports.

To find a Stock Report:
In the far right column of the main page, under Database Search, change the Resources box to Stock Reports
Then search by ticker symbol or company name.

Value Line Reports for The Dow 30
Click on company name to see Value Line Report.
(Note: EMU does not have a subscription to the site - these 30 reports are all you can access.)

EMU's print Value Line subscription was cancelled due to budget cuts. However, it is possible that you may find Value Line in print or online at your public library. Both Ann Arbor District Library and Ypsilanti District Library have online versions of Value Line that can be accessed in the library or from home with a library account.
ZACKS
This site offers earnings estimates, links to analysts commentary, and other info.
Some info not free.

More ways to research companies

This research guide provides more ways to research companies.

Company Research
by Amy Fyn Last Updated Oct 30, 2024 1126 views this year

Get Research Help

Use 24/7 live chat below or:

In-person Help Fall 2024 Mon-Thur: 10am - 7pm, Fri: 10am - 3pm

Email or phone replies

Appointments with librarians

Access Library and Research Help tutorials