Research Guides: Finance: Bonds

Bonds - Corporate

Standard & Poors NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
This database has S&P ratings and other data (including price statistics) for corporate bonds. There is also a Bond Screener which can be used to search for bonds by many types of criteria.
Tips: There are three ways to find bond info:
1) To find bond ratings for a specific company, use the Simple Search box and change from Company Profile to Corporate Bond Screener,
2) To find bond descriptions for a company, look at the Corporation Records,
3) To search for bonds by criteria, look under Quick Links for the Corporate Bond Screener.

FINRA Corporate Bond Search
Choose Bonds in left hand column if you have a symbol or want an advanced search.
Choose Company Information in left hand column if you want to find a list of bond issues for a company.
May include bond ratings from Moody's, S&P, and Finch.

Note: URL for this site keeps changing - notify EMU Library if link doesn't work.
Fitch Ratings
Free registration at the Fitch Ratings site will get you access to brief information on bonds with Fitch Ratings. Look under Ratings and Research for different types of bonds (corporate, public finance, etc.)
Free registration will get you access to ratings and brief information. The initial press release and research are not free.
Bond Basics
This site has educational information on bond markets.

Bonds - Government

EMMA - Electronic Municipal Market Access
"The Electronic Municipal Market Access system, or EMMA, is a comprehensive, centralized online source for free access to municipal disclosures, market transparency data and educational materials about the municipal securities market."
Includes municipal bond disclosure documents (Official Statements and continuing annual disclosures), recent prices, yields, interest rates, and ratings from S&P and Fitch. Also, has info on 529 College Savings Plans.

Search by CUSIP to quickly find a bond issue or use search feature to search by issuer name or other criteria. A 5 minute online video provides a quick overview of EMMA site.
FINRA Bond Search (includes municipal & agency bonds)
Click on the Search button.
May include bond ratings from Moody's, S&P, and Finch.
Treasury Direct (U.S. Dept. of Treasury)
Information on Treasury Bills, Notes, Bonds, TIPS (Treasury Inflation-Protected Securities), Savings Bonds, and more.
Yahoo! Finance Bond Center
Yahoo Finance has information on Treasury, Treasury Zero Coupon, Corporate and Municipal bonds. Search by bond name or use the bond screener to find bonds by type, state, price, or other criteria. Info includes bond ratings from Fitch.
Standard & Poor's Website
If you register at the site and agree to noncommercial use only, you can get credit ratings on government bonds at the S&P website. Includes both domestic and international government bonds.
Must register with your email to use.
Bond Basics
This site has educational information on bond markets.

Reference

Fixed-Income Securities and Derivatives Handbook - eBook by Choudhry, Moorad
Publication Date: 2010
Explains fixed-income market analysis and concepts related to bonds & other debt market instruments. Also trading topics such as yield curve, bond yield, and spot rates.
Bond Evaluation, Selection, and Management - eBook by R. Stafford Johnson
Publication Date: 2010
Focusing on essential concepts, models, and numerical examples, this book will help you quickly become familiar with the tools needed to effectively select, evaluate, and manage bonds. Covers both the fundamental and advanced topics in the field, including debt securities, bonds with embedded options, asset-backed securities, and bond derivatives.

Get Research Help

Use 24/7 live chat below or:

In-person Help Fall 2024 Mon-Thur: 10am - 7pm, Fri: 10am - 3pm

Email or phone replies

Appointments with librarians

Access Library and Research Help tutorials