Research Guides: Careers in Health: Test Preparation in Medicine

Medical College Admission Test (MCAT)

The Medical College Admission Test (MCAT) is required for application to medical school. It contains multiple-choice questions on these subjects: Biological and Biochemical Foundations of Living Systems; Chemical and Physical Foundations of Biological Systems; Psychological, Social, and Biological Foundations of Behavior; and Critical Analysis and Reasoning Skills.

Study Guides -- Print Resources

MCAT QBook by B. Schnedeker
Call Number: R838.5 .G55 2016; First Floor Circulation Desk
ISBN: 1944935053
Publication Date: 2016
Provides 2,000 MCAT questions covering all the sciences, including psychology and sociology. Includes complete explanation of correct and incorrect answer choices.
Kaplan MCAT 45
Call Number: R838.5 .M3192; First Floor Reference Collection
ISBN: 9781609789275
Publication Date: 2013
Contains study outlines and practice sets for each subject, suggested strategies and explained answers.

eBooks or Online Resources

MCAT Preparation through LearningExpress
Includes materials for 2015 MCAT
Includes online practice tests
Registration required (free).
Access Tips: Also available via http://mel.org/.
MCAT Preparation through Khan Academy
Includes videos explaining concepts contained in the MCAT.
Free MCAT practice test from Princeton Review

USMLE -- Electronic Resource

Passing the USMLE by A. Abdel-Halim
ISBN: 9780387689845
Publication Date: 2009
Covers internal medicine, dermatology, obstetrics, gynecology, surgery, pediatrics and psychology.

Careers in Health

Medical College Admission Test (MCAT)

Study Guides -- Print Resources

eBooks or Online Resources

USMLE -- Electronic Resource

Official Websites