Mark S.W. Jefferson papers

A guide to the collection of Mark Jefferson, geography professor at Michigan State Normal College

Plan a Visit

Due to the State of Michigan response to COVID-19, the University Archives and its employees have been asked to work remotely for the foreseeable future. We are not able to accommodate in person research until the University determines that all employees can return to work, but if you have a research query, please email lib_archives@emich.edu  

 

Under normal circumstances--Requests for materials must be made at least 24-48 hours in advance of a visit to the University Archives. Requests can be made by email or phone. Email: lib_archives@emich.edu / Phone: 734-487-2673 / Fax: 734-484-1151

Scheduling Appointments: Appointments can be made Monday - Friday between 9am and 4:30pm. Archives staff will accommodate requests as we are able and suggest contacting the archives at least 24-48 hours in advance of your desired appointment time. You must receive confirmation of an appointment to be granted access to the archives.

 

 

The Mark S.W. Jefferson papers contain information regarding the personal and profession life of Michigan State Normal College geography professor, Mark S.W. Jefferson. The collection includes materials collected and created during Jefferson's time on the American Commission to Negotiate Peace; Monographs and articles collected and written by Jefferson; Journals and Notebooks created during research trips that span his entire career; a comprehensive collection of both outgoing and incoming personal and professional correspondence; Hand drawn and research maps; Extensive visual materials including over 6,000 teaching slides, stereograph cards, as well as negatives, photographs, and albums. Records in the collection date from 1875 to 1949. 

A complete finding aid is available online.