Research Guides: Marketing & Advertising: Brands & Campaigns

Brands & Marketing Campaigns

The Advertising Century - Ad Age
"As the 20th century was coming to a close, Advertising Age in 1999 launched a major project to chronicle the history of the era's advertising industry." This web site includes the most popular content from the resulting book.
Brand Success - eBook
This reference book by Matt Haig is subtitled "How the World's Top 100 Brands Thrive & Survive." Includes essays on many well known brands.
Best Brands - Interbrand
Interbrand is a leading brand consulting firm. The firm's web site includes studies that rank brands.
Prophet Thinking
This section of the brand consulting firm Prophet's web site offers full text articles, whitepapers, and podcasts/webcasts on current brand topics.

Who owns the brand?

There are two large free databases that can be used to identify brand owners. It's also possible to search for a brand name in Advertising RedBooks or ABI/INFORM (ProQuest).

Global Brand Database
The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) offers a large free database of trademarks.

Advertising Red Books - now Winmo This link opens in a new window
Search for advertisers and agencies using the search box at the top of the page.
EMU's subscription does not include: upload a prospect list, Adbeat, WinmoTalk, or alerts.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Key source for business articles.
Subjects: Accounting, Auditing, Business, Communications, Economics, Ed Leadership, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Health Admin, Hotel Restaurant Mgmt, Management, Public Admin, Technology
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles, magazine articles, news, reports, dissertations
Brief Instruction Video: ProQuest Basics

Open Icecat
"Open Icecat contains more than half a million datasheets of IT, CE, Telecom and Office supply brands." Datasheets may include, brand name, manufacturer part number, categorization (UNSPSC based), product images, multimedia content (demos, product video’s), multilingual marketing text, standardized specifications for search & compare, leaflets & user manuals (PDF), options (related products), alternative products, general data: release date, modification date and logistic data: EAN/UPC code, weight & dimensions.
Open Icecat is free with registration; EMU does not have subscription to Full Icecat.

eBooks

Cultural Strategy by Douglas B. Holt
Publication Date: 2010
Holt and Cameron analyse a series of classic cases that relied on bold, innovative strategies: Nike, Marlboro, Starbucks, Jack Daniels, vitaminwater, and Ben & Jerry's.

@ EMU Library

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
Call Number: REF HF 5837 .E53 2000
From the Burma Shave road signs to the “Lonely Maytag Repairman” to “Intel Inside,” get the scoop on major marketing campaigns.
America's Greatest Brands
Call Number: REF HD 69.B7 A43x
Brands profiles include info on market, brand achievements, history, product, recent developments, promotion, and brand values. Often includes photos/illustrations of product, ads, and logos. Multiple volumes.
Ultimate Book of Business Brands
Call Number: REF HD 69.B7 D43x 2003
Essays on many brands. 1999 version is available online.
Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
Call Number: REF HF 5803 .A38 2003
This set includes entries on specific brands or companies that discuss their advertising and marketing campaigns, as well as entries on ad agencies and advertising concepts.
Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands
Call Number: REF HF 5415.3 .E527 1994
Info for “600 of the most popular brands in America,” such as history, product intro, marketing strategies, ad campaigns, product development, international markets, innovations, and competition.

Get Research Help

Use 24/7 live chat below or:

In-person Help Fall 2024 Mon-Thur: 10am - 7pm, Fri: 10am - 3pm

Email or phone replies

Appointments with librarians

Access Library and Research Help tutorials

Librarian

Amy Fyn

Subjects: Business, Economics